The Forgiveness Project

Talk about going on an emotional roller-coaster of emotions!! First I want to give a shout out to Matthew Nelson for writing such a beautiful episode and Joel Zwick for his direction. I’d also like to give a standing ovation to Sabrina, Auggie, Cheryl Texiera (Katy), and David Thomas Jenkins (Kermit Hart)!!! We all know Maya’s background so from the start we knew this was going to be a unique ride.

As the episode opens we see the word with Forgiveness written on the chalkboard. I think the most powerful moment in this opening was after Cory asks the class to write out their feelings and forgive someone in their lives. Everyone begins immediately except for Maya. What I love about this scene is that Maya has her friends who have her best interest at hart (heart). Lucas initiates the process of her thinking about forgiving her Father for leaving her, Riley is right there to back him up. This was quite the powerful opening with excellent non-verbal communication going on.

This Bay window scene was hilarious and Auggie totally stole this!!

“Didn’t I do that when I was like 3 years old.” “Don’t you think a normal person would’ve gotten over this by now?” “Good day to you….NUT.” LOL

Riley is trying so hard.

I really enjoyed seeing Topanga and Katy interacting. I’m glad their kids are best friends and they get along as well they seem to have a good friendship going.

Enter the infamous Kermit Hart…( You know the guy who walked out on Maya and her Mother when she was 5. The guy who has another family, the guy who hasn’t sent Maya a birthday card since, the guy who just up and left Katy to raise her daughter on her own.)

 Katy’s immediate anger was great to see and Maya’s nervous energy as she walked towards her dad for the first time in 9 years tugged on my heart and then what she says afterward broke it. “Riley is my best friend, but you wouldn’t know much about her…or me”

The concern and anger in Katy’s face speaks volumes. “You said you were going to out for a walk and you’d be back in an hour, you’re nine years late.” I don’t like Kermit’s response to this. Who is this guy?! So nonchalant about the situation.

 This next scene I felt was really important. I love that Maya see’s the Matthews as her family. They have been there for her more than her dad.  I also love the nonverbal communication happening between Maya and Katy.  It really is the little things when you are acting, and in real life, that get the story across.

The story Maya recalls is a beautiful moment. Maya: “ Do you remember that night the thunder shook the apartment. I was 5 and I thought the lightning was so bright, I thought the world was on fire. I’m all under my covers crying and come flying into the room and peek under the covers and decide to make it a game. We were in Alaska looking for Gold. You said the lighting was the Northern Lights, The Aurora Borealis You made that entire night an adventure until the storm passed and I woke up the next morning and it was a sunny day. Don’t you remember that?” Kermit: “No Maya, I don’t” Maya: That’s because it never happened. The storm happened but you didn’t. Mom. It was mom who came in. She made it Alaska and I wasn’t scared at all.

 A true testament of how wonderful a mother Katy has been. Katy will do anything for her daughter.

Call it over analyzing but I picked up on something. So during the Q and A the writers did in August they said that Shawn was all over this episode and by golly I think I found it. So Maya is talking about a storm and her mother comforting her and then she wakes on a sunny day and in Girl Meets Hurricane, Shawn is talking to Katy and says “ Katy, relationships end. Sometimes out of no where on a sunny day. But you pick yourself up, and you rebuild, and you don’t look back.” Woahhh Mind Blown also is this a possible foreshadowing?

Back to school. Back to the Forgiveness Project.

I love how open Maya has become compared to the beginning of the season. Growth is powerful. Maya’s letter is so honest and raw. Full of feelings.

“In school I’m learning about forgiveness. What you did makes me have a lot of angry feelings inside of me. I don’t want to be angry anymore. Why did you leave? Did I do something? Make me understand what I did. Your Daughter Maya”

Better minds know that sometimes to really forgive someone, it helps to understand them first. It gives the other person a chance to be heard too. Forgiveness is one our finest qualities as humans beings.

Haha first Riley doesn’t pay enough attention to Auggie and now she won’t let him go.

This next scene is pivotal for Maya.

While outside really confronting her dad she asks this important question.

Maya: “Who are you?” Kermit: I found a job and I’ve managed to keep it. I came back to tell you that I am grateful for what you wrote and I am sorry for what I did. I’m glad you’re okay. Maya: “You found a job? Kermit: “I did” Maya: “Your job was to stay….”Your job was to stay. You don’t think I had it in me to allow my father to grow?”

I love the resolve of this scene between Maya and her Dad.. Maya doesn’t have to blame herself anymore. She didn’t do anything wrong. And she didn’t forgive him.

Teachers who are real teachers truly care about their students.

Maya: What did you want from me? Cory: Maya, did you forgive yourself.

All along that is what Cory really wanted. He wanted his students to find peace and I think Maya did.

Looks like your idea worked this time Matthews.

The tag for this episode was a funny one. A little laughter to go with some tears.

“I am begging you to let me go. If you don’t let me go I swear I will eat your face off. Oh sweet freedom” Oh Auggie was hilarious!! Love this kid! I also love that Riley forgives Cory for everything because well he is Cory Matthews after all. 🙂

Forgiveness starts when you take time to listen, understand and forgive yourself.

After watching this episode multiple times and really taking the time to take the lesson in I’ve decided to share something that has touched me and I hope will touch you, the reader. So I’m 25 years old and I have an identical twin sister.  We were born 4 months early. She died when we were 11 days old.  Growing up my two sisters and I’ve always known  I am a twin.  My point in bringing this up is that as I’ve grown and gotten older, like Maya, I’ve carried around feelings of guilt and true to Cory’s lesson I have listened and try to understand.  Now I’m doing something I’ve meant to do for a while. I’m taking the forgiveness project on with a twist. They say writing is therapeutic. So I’m taking the challenge and writing a letter to my twin.  I’m looking to reach out to other young twins like myself to write letters to their twins as well.  I hope this is helpful to someone reading this and hope it helps you as I’m sure it will help me. 

Leave a Reply

