Girl Meets I Do-An in depth review


This episode was absolutely beautiful and filled with so much emotion!!! A huge round of applause to Mark Blutman for bringing a happy close to Shawn’s lifelong search for love. Another round of applause to Ben Savage for superb  direction. 

This episode opens with the reality of the approaching wedding, we see Maya who is unsure of it all and Riley of course trys to cheer her up with her overwhelming optimism. 

“And here comes the dragon to burn down everything.””Hi Girls” “The weddings off I knew it, I mean hi.”

Shawn and Katy are so cute together. They really are perfect for each other. (Can I just say that I love the fact that Shawn hasn’t changed from his charismatic and poetically thoughtful character. I grew up on reruns of Boy Meets World and eventually found a connection with Shawn.)

Next Maya’s insecurities really take over and she begins panicking, causing her to wake up in the middle of the night. “Riley Matthews!” “I am plagued by doubts.”

Learning that as a child, from age 4, Maya has been trying so hard to protect her mother pulled hard on my heart. Learning that Katy spent her nights crying didn’t help either. Gosh I love the character Maya has grown to become, and how her multiple layers change with her. 

Cory and Shawn together is a riot!!! Hilarious. “I set you free my little Shawnee-bird. Fly, fly away.” “Don’t go””Slumber Party back on!”Absolutely loved the pillow fight

This scene with Katy,  Topanga and Riley and Maya was great and really played to their friendships. 

What if it makes him look go from “I do” to “what I do”.  

Through all the hard times Katy has become content with her life and wouldn’t change it. While Maya still isn’t sure.haha love the door bit with Riley and Maya! Ma how

“Why do you want to marry my mother?” “Because I love her Maya.” “Words. Those are just words.” “Yeah they are. But I don’t say those words a lot alright. I was never even sure what they meant. Now I am. They’re the best words I got. So they’re important. I want you to understand them.”

Riley trying to sneak into her room was great physical comedy!! Sorry Riles, Maya seems to be on a mission. 

I love Shawn and Maya’s relationship so much.and how we see in this scene between the two, and later on adding Katy, how much Maya truly means to Shawn. 

“I already asked you for your blessing and you gave it.” “Yes. That’s why words aren’t enough.” “Look I feel different. I feel scared.” “Of what?” “Of why this needs to happen at all.”

Maya is letting her fear out. Her fear of change. We know Maya has never liked change. This next step is huge for her and all she wants in the world is for it to go right. 

“Why get life involved in a big ceremony?!” “Because your mother and I want to invite life To this ceremony Maya. We want life to change us for the better.” “Promise me this will work.” “No I can’t. I can promise that I want it to. And I can promise that you’re a big part of it. Ask me why.” “Why?” “Because I never want to let you down.” Shawn has made note of this many times, even when he first meets Maya in Girl Meets Home for the Holidays. He says he doesnt want anyone to grow up like he did.  He even reconnects Katy and Maya in Girl Meets Master Plan. 

“We respect your tragedies Maya, we do, we’ve had our own. But we’re taking a leap of faith here. You wanna jump with us?.” Shawn recognized what was going through Maya’s head. He understands that she is still hurting. Maya hasn’t had a father really active in her life since she was 4 years old , and we already know she doesn’t take change well, even if the change is good. For Maya she needs proof to solidify everything.  

Awww Shawn has had this ceremony planned the whole time. “What do you want to do tonight? Dinner, movie, get MARRIED.” It’s happening and he wants Maya to be a part of it. 🙂 

 It’s happening but not in those clothes! “No, we have to. The guy who’s marrying us gets here in an hour. You’re gonna love him.” I’ve always adored Shawn’s relationship with Mr. Feeny. Shawn knew exactly who he wanted at his his impromptu wedding.

This scene between Shawn, Cory, Topanga, and Katy showed the best friendship in television history was still very much alive. hehehe and it also showed that while both are ready to get married, Katy and Shawn each have their concerns.

“Will I make a good husband?” If you’re getting cold feet I will drag you up there myself.” “No I’m marrying the woman I love today, I just need to know if Im gonna be a good husband for her?”

Haha Cory “Should I return the boutonnière ?!”

Oh the worry on Katy’s face!  

“I’ve been looking for you.” “Why” “Um before we do this, no matter what the future brings, I want to you to know how much I want to be a good wife.” “That’s all I’ve been thinking about.” “Do you think I could be a good wife?” (Katy is plagued with doubt too) For Katy, her marriage fell apart out of nowhere. She doesn’t want that this time around. She wants a strong marriage and wants to be the best wife she can be, because she didn’t get that chance before. 

Cuteness overload!! Auggie and Ava both hilarious and adorable. So good to see Maya happy. Feeeennnaaayyyy!!!!!

 Of course Shawn would bring Fenny in. He means so much to him and is the only person that could get the job done. (I recently watched the BMW episode called City Slackers. This is where we learn Shawn’s middle name from non other than a Feeny himself. We see the heart he has for Shawn and how much he wants him to succeed, despite how Shawn thinks he’s seen.) 

Hahha “who’s mr. Feeny?” “I think he’s my grandpa?” 

“I’m a lot of things to many people.” “Grandpa!!” “No!” Best line 

Another classic Cory and Shawn moment. Aww Cory giving Katy away just had to happen. 

“We are gathered here today to witness the joining of two souls. Shawn Patrick Hunter and Katy Grace…Cleeterboosky” “Its Clutterbucket.” “Yes I know, I’m just trying to give you some dignity.” LOL

Classic Shawn, Cory, Feeny moment. Yes. Get that assignment I quick Shawn.

Umm these vows are everything! Omg Ava and Auggie at it again. The old married couple giving their blessing. hahaha 

Maya watched her mom struggle for almost a decade and now she found love and is trusting it. Maya wants to a part of that too. “Wait before this happens. I’m with you. I’m jumping with you.” “Thanks kiddo” Love his little nickname for her. “I’ve always been with you.” Oh Maya yes you have and your momma appreciates it so much. “Proceed” 

And she goes from Katy Grace Clutterbucket to Katy Grace Hunter!!!!!! 
The Tag, ahhhhh the Tag!

“We did it!” “Wait is Shawn my father now?” “Not officially. He’d have to adopt you first.” “Get on it!” “I’m all over it!” Ummmm Yes! This better happen. 

Ohhhh Fiji!!

 “You ready?” “For the rest of my life” “Um, am I your daughter now?” “Well it’s how I’d like to think of you, if it’s okay.”  “That is the most okay thing that has ever happened for me.” 

The past doesn’t escape you, the pain of our past remains. It is what makes us who we are, but it also helps us grow. It is the importance of learning to move forward and grow with life that is key. 


Photo credit: Disney Channel 

Leave a Reply

